Background Images
  • bg1.jpg
  • bg2.jpg
  • bg3.jpg
  • bg4.jpg
  • bg5.jpg
  • bg6.jpg


Cuba is the largest member of the Great Antilles, at the same time one of the world's largest islands. The form of this long and narrow island in the Caribbean resembles a crocodile and it is located between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, 150 km south of Key West, Florida.

The Cuban archipelago is 1200 km long from east to west and 210 km wide from north to south, the total land area of the country is 110,992 km2 which means that is a little smaller than the state Pennsylvania. It has more than 300 natural beaches on its coastline surrounded by sparkling white sand and crystal clear water.
Cuba’s landscape characterized by a great diversity of natural forms: mountainous areas, plateaus, valleys, savannah and rolling hills. The mountain areas increase in height from west to east, mountain ranges: Cordillera de Guaniguanico: is located in Pinar del Rio province. comprised by the Sierra de los Organos Mountains on the west and the Sierra del Rosario Mountains in the east The highest elevation is the Pan de Guajaibon 702 m, Guamuhaya Group is located in the central region of the country, this range extends across the provinces of Cienfuegos, Sancti Spiritus and Villa Clara. This group formed by the Escambray and Sierra Trinidad mountain range. Pico San Juan the highest elevation with 1,140 m above sea level. Sierra Maestra is located in the eastern region of the island and here we can find the highest point of the country: Pico Turquino with 1974 m over sea level. The rest of land is flat and fertile. There are lots of cave including an exceptionally beautiful karst phenomena such as Bellamar in the province of Matanzas.
Due to the shape of the island, most of the rivers are relatively short and the streams are quite strong. The mountains were slashed by the rivers creating breathtaking waterfalls such as the Salto del Caburní and the Abagama waterfall. The longest river with its 370 km is Rio Cauto (Granma province) however is not navigable. Many water reservoirs and lakes can be found on the island which ones attract the migratory birds.

Cuba has 16 provinces which are:
  1. Camaguey
  2. Ciego de Avila
  3. Cienfuegos
  4. Ciudad de la Habana
  5. Granma
  6. Guantanamo
  7. Holguin
  8. Las Tunas
  9. Matanzas
  10. Pinar del Rio
  11. Sancti Spiritus
  12. Santiago de Cuba
  13. Villa Clara
  14. Artemisa
  15. Mayabeque
  16. Special Municipality: Isla de la Juventud
Geographical limits are:
  • among the 20º 12 ' 36 '' and the 23º 17 ' 09 '' of north latitude,
  • and among the 80º 53 ' 55 '' and the 84º 57 ' 54 '' of longitude west.