Background Images
  • bg1.jpg
  • bg2.jpg
  • bg3.jpg
  • bg4.jpg
  • bg5.jpg
  • bg6.jpg


The  Republic of Cuba  is a Communist state. Cuba is constituted by administrative divisions: 15 provinces: Artemisa, Camaguey, Ciego de Avila, Cienfuegos, Granma, Guantanamo, Holguin, La Habana, Las Tunas, Matanzas, Mayabeque, Pinar del Rio, Sancti Spiritus, Santiago de Cuba, Villa Clara and 1 special municipality: Isla de la Juventud.

The  independence of the Republic of Cuba was achieved on the 20th of May in 1902 .
The Cuban legal system based on Spanish civil code. Cuban citizens can vote in elections of representatives from 16 years of age and their vote is universal. During the elections the  president and the vice presidents are elected by the National Assembly for a five-year term. The Cuban Communist Party (PCC) is the only legitimate party, and according to the protocol officially consented candidates run unchallenged.
The legislative branch is unicameral: National Assembly of People's Power (Asemblea Nacional del Poder Popular). There are 614 members who are elected directly from slates, approved by special nomination commissions for five-year terms.
The executive branch:
  • The chief of the state: President of the Council of State and President of the Council of Ministers:  Gen. Raul CASTRO Ruz (since 24 February 2008);
  • First Vice President of the Council of State and First Vice President of the Council of Ministers Jose Ramon MACHADO Ventura (since 24 February 2008)
The cabinet is composed by the Council of Ministers. They are proposed by the president of the Council of State and delegated by the National Assembly or the 31-member Council of State, called by the assembly to act on its behalf when it is not in session.